Maryland District Court Locations

The District Court has jurisdiction for civil claims up to $30,000.00. Claims under $5,000.00 are heard as small claims and the rules of evidence are somewhat relaxed for those claims. In claims where more than $ 5,000 is requested for damages, formal discovery limited to 15 interrogatories unless leave of court is granted to take a deposition. The District Court is structured to resolve smaller civil cases faster than in Circuit Court. Trials in District Court are judge trials only. There are no jury trials in District Court. In the event a claim is filed for more than $10,000.00 in District Court, the defendant has the right to timely request removal to the Circuit Court for a jury trial. Any Party that is aggrieved by a decision in the District Court generally has the right to appeal the decision to the Circuit Court. The appeal will be heard on the record for cases over $5,000.00 or de novo for cases below $5,000.00. Maryland District Courts are broken down into 12 districts. The districts are as follows:

District 1 – Baltimore city

District 2 – Dorchester County, Somerset County, Wicomico County, Worcester County

District 3 – Caroline County, Cecil County, Kent County, Queen Anne’s County, Talbot County

District 4 – Calvert County, Charles County, St. Mary’s County

District 5 – Prince George’s County

District 6 – Montgomery County

District 7 – Anne Arundel County

District 8 – Baltimore County

District 9 – Harford County

District 10 – Carroll County, Howard County

District 11 – Frederick County, Washington County

District 12 – Allegany County, Garrett County

Free Consultation
Contact Us